Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business and Government
Free shipping for delivery and returns within South Africa for orders over R500. No returns for sale items
Cape Town Tel: 27 21 683 1716

Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business and Government

Issued: CEO Communications
Date: 6 August 2013
Press Release

Africa’s Most Influential Women in Business and Government: Celebrating African Talent

A gala dinner held at Gallagher Convention Centre in Midrand, Johannesburg on 31 July 2013, heralded the beginning of a continent wide recognition process for the women of Africa.

Most Influential Women in Business and Government
saw it fitting to celebrate its fourteenth year of existence and award ceremony with a theme titled, ‘Igniting the African flame’. The gala dinner was the first leg of the road show to take place throughout South Africa: Bloemfontein, Durban, Port Elizabeth and Cape Town and later Africa to Ghana (16 September 2013), Kenya (18 September 2013), Zambia (20 September 2013) and Mauritius (23 September 2013).

The annual, year-long programme has become an extremely prestigious event allowing for the recognition, networking and celebration of women.

Guests at the gala dinner were captivated by the speakers that included H.E. Dr Nkosazana Dalamini-Zuma, guest speaker Commander Tsietsie Mokhele and programme director Derek Watts. The lovely ladies from BlackBryd complimented the evening with lively entertainment.

While the awards ceremony celebrates organisations working toward gender equality it also recognises the individual contributions of women and places the efforts of outstanding women at the forefront of its awards ceremony.

The cornerstone of the recognition programme is a glossy publication released in conjunction with the awards ceremony that is widely recognised as the most authoritative guide on successful executive women.

In 2013, Most Influential Women in Business and Government is entering Africa in order to recognise women of note who are having a positive impact in their sectors across the continent. This venture affords Most Influential Women in Business and Government the opportunity to increase the level of sustainability that it is already renowned for. Processes are in place to maintain the credibility and transparency of this prestigious programme include the external judging process facilitated by an independent chairperson, as well as receiving anonymous nominations through various media.

The most influential women in their various sectors as adjudicated by the judging panel are listed below. For information please visit

South African Winners and Finalists
Lifetime Achiever Awards
Winners: Advocate Lulama Sangqu
Dr Anna Mokgokong
Elana Meyer
Captain Jane Trembath
Gloria Loggenberg
Jane Doyle
Agencies and Regulatory Authorities
Winners: Philisiwe Mthethwa
Dr Patience Mthunzi
Finalist: Dr Liezille Jean Jacobs
Winner: Dr Birgit Andrag
Finalist: Annatjie Loio
Arts and Culture
Winner: Kelebogile Boikanyo
Winner: Estelle Gathercole
Finalist: Liz Segal
Basic Industries
Winner: Dr Bridgette Gasa
Finalists: Ashleen Joorst
Esther Letlape
Civil Society Organisations and Related Services Partner
Winners: Christine Du Preez
Joy Olivier
Finalist: Lesley Rochat
Cyclical Consumer Goods
Winner: Stephanie Beyers van den Bergh
Finalist: Shirley Tamaris
Education and Training
Winner: Gloria Loggenberg
Finalist: Kim Meredith
Education and Training
Winner: Prof Mamokgethi Phakeng
Finalists: Prof Linda de Vries
Maryke Labuschagne
Winner: Margaret Nienaber
Finalists: Ency Litsoane
Dineo Molefe
General Industries
Winner: Kate Odendaal
Finalist: Captain Laura Ilunga
Winners: Advocate Lulama Sangqu
Matsietso Motaung
Winner: Dr Elmi Muller
Finalists: Adri Grobbelaar
Dr Augusta Dorning
Winner: Vanessa Olver
Finalist: Ann Kleynhans
Public Enterprises SOE’s
Winner: Bongiwe Pityi
Finalist: Brenda Magqwaka
Dr Esper Ncube
Lindiwe Ndlela
Resources and Integration Processes
Winner: Khanyisile Kweyama
Services Industry Business and Professional Services
Winner: Cindy Norcott
Finalists: Nicolene Schoeman
Shirley Machaba
Usha Jivan
Services Industry Services
Winner: Ferose Oaten
Finalists: Angela Makholwa-Moabelo
Carla da Silva
Paula Slier
Winners: Annelise De Jager
Babalwa Manuel
Nomarika Motaung
Renay van der Berg
Sharon Isaacs
Finalists: Annette Kasselman
Jennifer Classen
Mimi Rupp
Winner: Ashleigh Moolman Pasio
Finalist: Bridgette Hartley

Words: 607

follow us on facebook   follow us on instagram   follow us on Pinterest   follow us on twitter  contact Callaghan


6 Cavendish Street
Tel: 27 21 683 1716


Join our mailing list and receive style updates, notifications of new arrivals and special offers.